Wittier Word Weavers

Writers' Club of Whittier

West of Whittier

6 Comments

Jessamyn West

Jessamyn West

Because I admire Jessamyn West, I keep a file on her, hoping to one day assemble thoughts and details into an article. I might even put “Friendly Persuasion” on my Netflix queue for motivation. At the moment I am reading an autographed copy of her 1973 Hide And Seek — A Continuing Journey and would like to share an excerpt, to close out the month of August and to celebrate our Writers’ Club theme “Vacation.”

As background, please know that Jessamyn West proudly proclaimed “Solitude has always excited me.” Me, too! It’s the ultimate vacate-tion. She added that she wasn’t sure it would be quite so exciting if condemned to a prison cell or cast away on a desert island, but “when the opportunity for solitude must be stolen…it is, like stolen fruits, very sweet.”

In Indiana at age four (and probably until she was six in Whittier) little Jessamyn would sit in a round metal washtub and admonish her baby brother “Stay out!” As a school-aged girl in Yorba Linda she “found larger quarters: a piano box instead of a tub” where she could secretly observe adults, children and animals. As an adult she escaped via travel trailer, one which she named Walden on Wheels, planting herself along the Colorado River. “Was Thoreau never lonely?,” she asked. “Certainly. Where do you think writing like his comes from? Camaraderie?”

She also admitted, to my delight, “I’m not the greatest woman in the world for going, but when it comes to stopping, I am hard to beat.”

Thank you, Ms. West. It’s been a pleasure traveling with you.

—Jessamyn West became an Honorary Member of WCW in the 1970s.

6 thoughts on “West of Whittier

  1. I’m also a fan of Jessamyn West. FRIENDLY PERSUASION is a timeless jewel of a movie.

  2. Love it and thanks for introducing me to Jessamyn West. I plan to write to her soon.

  3. Hi Sherry, I remember a cartoon during the 60’s of a Kilroy type person sitting in a box. The caption was “People are no damn good.” I don’t think that was what Jessamyn had in mind. Kay

  4. I loved the story, especially the solitude in the tub.

  5. Great write-up, Sherry. I shall have to check out her writing & the movie when I have a chance!

Comment

