Wittier Word Weavers

Writers' Club of Whittier

Four on the Floor: A New Beginning

4 Comments

Someone on Facebook mentioned the expression “four on the floor” so out of curiosity, I looked it up. I learned something new every web surfing instance, I must admit. And I’m thrilled with my new knowledge, ecstatic to confirm once more the power of the open internet. We, the web surfers, are the people of a new democracy.

If you are not familiar with the term, google it, Bing it, Yahoo it, do whatever it takes to know what it means. It’s fun to discover. As for me, I’m going to spin this expression a bit wider in the hope to catch myself some fly-by readers. I’m going to use it in my post title, since this would be my fourth installment–My four on the floor– on the subject of my 4s’ premeditated death, and its subsequent resurrection.

My 4s’ awakening presented me with a new dilemma. Since I already ordered a new cell phone, I was officially under the burden of two intimate relationships. Knowing my personality, I could’t possibly be a guilt-free, versatile two-timer. There would be no way! What am I going to do, what am I going to do? Canceling my order would be one option, though I hated it. In my ideal world, people don’t usually cancel a burgeoning relationship out of wimp. I must sheepishly admit that once I had accepted my 4s’ death, I had also gathered enough courage to plan for its replacement. My emotional investment into this device not yet received had begun, starting with the purchase of a new cover for it.

One more time, my sweet daughter came to my rescue by offering to inherit and care for my old friend. She made the bargain even sweeter when she mentioned her birthday, which had been neglected this year. “Mommy,” she pleaded her case, “I’ll need a smartphone in six months anyway, once I started high school, as you promised, so I can utilize all my free time effectively, you know, keeping up with homework while waiting for my ride, making use of the SAT-prep apps, listening to Bach on YouTube to improve my intonation….”

Just by the way she argued her case, I’m sure this girl is going to be the next Hilary Clinton. I sincerely hope she would use her email account wisely if she ever became the United States Secretary of State.

Needless to say, I’m now into a new relationship with a latest mobile model. More on this later.

Author: Hong-My Basrai

Memoirist and author of Behind the Red Curtain, blogger, engineer, manager, mother of three and wife of one, etc. I am a bit of everything.

4 thoughts on “Four on the Floor: A New Beginning

  1. Sly and funny. You’re ripping through the gears!

  2. Thanks, Cindy. I’m afraid I’m writing a novel on this subject.

  3. That’s okay. Go for it.

  4. I’m going for it all right, Steve! Thanks for reading

Comment

